Artists' Books for Everything

Artists’ books represent a particular phenomenon within contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s they have become established worldwide as a new type of art. Artists’ books are autonomous works of art in the form of books. Works of art in large editions, they exemplify the democratisation of art as well as the mobility and interconnectedness of artists. Artists’ books are independent works of art - published, printed and copied - that are born of an artistic conception, in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America, William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia.

The exhibition aims to present the first ever survey of the evolution and dissemination of artists’ books today and to illustrate the diversity of this genre. It will include artists’ books produced in the last five years or so. To this end, the Centre for Artists’ Publications, in a Call for Artists’ Books, invites artists from throughout the world to participate in this international exhibition of artists’ books. Under the title “Künstlerbücher für Alles  -  Artists‘ Books for Everything  -  Livres d'artiste pour tout”, books can be submitted until the end of April 2017. All books submitted must be produced in large editions (not unique copies or edited in small print runs) and marketed by booksellers or galleries or by the artists themselves.

DOWNLOADS:

English_Call_for_Artists_Books.pdf

Questionnaire.pdf

French_Call_for_Artists_Books.pdf

Spanish_Call_for_Artists_Books.pdf

The purpose of the exhibition is to display artists’ books from all continents - with their differences and similarities, their varied characteristics, themes and motifs - and thus to give a representative overview of the current artists’ book scene. The exhibition also aims to highlight the significance and the value of artists’ books in contemporary art. The Call for Artists’ Books is addressed particularly to artists from Africa, Asia and Central or South America, whose works are often unknown in Europe.

The title or slogan “Künstlerbücher für Alles” or “Artists’ Books for Everything” makes reference to the Zeitschrift für Alles (“Magazine for Everything”) by the Swiss/German artist Dieter Roth, who likewise invited artists to contribute works of art to his project. A catalogue will be compiled of all the artists’ books included in the exhibition.

This exhibition is organised in collaboration with the University of Bremen.


SHOP

Keyboard Ring

[Go to the Shop]

Kontakt

Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen / Weserburg
Teerhof 20
28199 Bremen
Telefon +49 (0)421 59839 40
E-Mail: studienzentrum@weserburg.de

Öffnungszeiten Studienraum

Dienstag bis Freitag 11-12:30 Uhr
Donnerstag 14-16:30 Uhr
sowie nach Vereinbarung

Öffnungszeiten Ausstellungen

Die Ausstellungen des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen sind zu den Öffnungszeiten der Weserburg zu sehen:

Dienstag bis Sonntag 11-18 Uhr
Donnerstag 11-20 Uhr
Montag geschlossen
[mehr]

YouTube

Hier finden Sie den YOU TUBE Channel des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.

Facebook Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

YouTube

Hier finden Sie den YOU TUBE Channel des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.

Facebook Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

NEWSLETTER Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

Gerne informieren wir Sie über die Aktivitäten des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.
[kostenlos bestellen]

Öffnungszeiten Studienraum

Dienstag bis Freitag 11-12:30 Uhr
Donnerstag 14-16:30 Uhr
sowie nach Vereinbarung

Öffnungszeiten Ausstellungen

Die Ausstellungen des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen sind zu den Öffnungszeiten der Weserburg zu sehen:

Dienstag bis Sonntag 11-18 Uhr
Donnerstag 11-20 Uhr
Montag geschlossen
[mehr]

Kontakt

Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen / Weserburg
Teerhof 20
28199 Bremen
Telefon +49 (0)421 59839 40
E-Mail: studienzentrum@weserburg.de

NEWSLETTER Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

Gerne informieren wir Sie über die Aktivitäten des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.
[kostenlos bestellen]

Radio im FLuss

Das Radio des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen 

Opening Hours

Tuesday to Sunday 11:00 a.m.–6:00 p.m.
Thursday 11:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Closed on Monday
[more]

Admission

Adults: €8.00
Reduced: €5.00
Families (2 adults/4 children): €14.00
[more]

Contact

++49–(0)421–59839-0
[more]

Newsletter

We’d be delighted to send you information about the Weserburg’s activities.
[Order free of charge]


recommend this page to a friend Sendprint this page Print