Exhibition Zentrum | 15.09.2017 - 07.01.2018

Acceptance Welcome!

The Idea of an Open Society: Artistic Networks in the Context of the Kees Francke Archive
The philosopher Karl Popper called in 1945 for an open society “in which one can breathe and think freely, in which each person has a value, and in which the society exerts no unnecessary pressure on the individual”. In the 1960s and 1970s a new generation of artists began to replicate works of art in the form of artists’ books, magazines, newspapers, small multiple objects, postcards, graphic posters or audio cassettes. These were sold for a small fee or exchanged internationally with artist colleagues, disregarding all political frontiers, from Eastern Europe to Latin America. An international network was thus formed via the post, enabling artists to circumvent the censorship of their work. This was the genesis of so-called Mail Art. Everyone could participate, nobody was excluded; there were no juries and no censorship. A societal vision in accordance with that envisaged by Karl Popper was apparent in the dehierarchisation and the democratisation of art. The exhibition shows works from the archive of the Dutch artist Kees Francke, who would have celebrated his 65th birthday this year, supplemented by works from other archives that help to form a picture of the networks though which these artists were interconnected. A cabinet exhibition in the series "On the Gallery"[more...]
Artpool: Einladung zu Commonpress  Nr. 51: Hungary Can be Yours. 1983
Exhibition Zentrum | 16.06.2017 - 03.09.2017

Artpool

Active Archive of Contemporary Art in Hungary
The Artpool Archive, founded by Hungarian artist György Galántai and Julia Klaniczay in Budapest in 1979, is one of the seven important European archives that have made it their mission to collect, to archive and to preserve the artistic materials generated by the new alternative art movements since the 1960s. This exhibition presents an overview not only of the history and activities of Artpool, but also of its unparalleled collection of Eastern European artists’ publications, ranging from Samizdat to Sound Poetry. In cooperation with Artpool Art Research Center, Budapest.[more...]
Exhibition Zentrum | 03.06.2017 - 06.08.2017

Artists' Books for Everything

Artists' Books for Everything
Artists’ books represent a particular phenomenon within contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s they have become established worldwide as a new type of art. Artists’ books are autonomous works of art in the form of books. Works of art in large editions, they exemplify the democratisation of art as well as the mobility and interconnectedness of artists. Artists’ books are independent works of art - published, printed and copied - that are born of an artistic conception, in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America, William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia. [more...]
Marikke Heinz-Hoek, Konstellation, 2008
Exhibition Zentrum | 27.01.2017 - 04.06.2017

Marikke Heinz-Hoek

Linkepoot - Books and Editions
The video- and installation artist Marikke Heinz-Hoek developed her first editions in the early 1990s using a computer. Over the following years she produced numerous other works in the same manner, in small to unlimited print runs. Her preoccupation with the northern German landscape and the confrontation with various biographies are recurring themes in her editions. The photo-edition “Stardust 6” from 2015, for instance, juxtaposes landscape drawings by the artist and original photographs of outer space, while a computer-disk-object from the 1990s deals with the life of Marilyn Monroe.[more...]
Paul Heimbach: 6 Würfel in 90 Ansichten. 2002
Exhibition Zentrum | 23.09.2016 EXTENDED TIL 15.01.2017

Paul Heimbach

Erinnerungen
Paul Heimbach schuf ein umfangreiches Werk von Künstlerbüchern und Auflagenobjekten. Beginnend mit frühen experimentellen Herangehensweisen in den 1960er Jahren, entstanden in späteren Phase mathematisch und kalendarisch geprägte Werkgruppen, in denen er durch den präzisen Einsatz von Farbe eine ganz eigene bildnerische Sprache entwickelte. Eine repräsentative Auswahl der publizierten Werke Paul Heimbachs befindet sich dank der großzügigen Unterstützung von Peter Foedisch im Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen und wird in dieser Kabinettausstellung gezeigt. Paul Heimbach starb 2013. Im Dezember 2016 wäre er 70 Jahre alt geworden.[more...]

Facebook Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

YouTube

Hier finden Sie den YOU TUBE Channel des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.

Radio im FLuss

Das Radio des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen 

NEWSLETTER Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen

Gerne informieren wir Sie über die Aktivitäten des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen.
[kostenlos bestellen]

Öffnungszeiten Studienraum

Dienstag bis Freitag 11-12:30 Uhr
Donnerstag 14-16:30 Uhr
sowie nach Vereinbarung

Öffnungszeiten Ausstellungen

Die Ausstellungen des Zentrums für Künstlerpublikationen sind zu den Öffnungszeiten der Weserburg zu sehen:

Dienstag bis Sonntag 11-18 Uhr
Donnerstag 11-20 Uhr
Montag geschlossen
[mehr]

Kontakt

Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen / Weserburg
Teerhof 20
28199 Bremen
Telefon +49 (0)421 59839 40
E-Mail: studienzentrum@weserburg.de